How I Edit My Photos

I get a lot of questions about how I edit my photos for my Instagram and my blog so I thought I’d write a post on how to get the perfect edit!

Majority of my photos are taken on my iPhone 6 or my GF6, which I personally prefer taking photos on as it gives much more depth and quality to an image. Normal Instagram photos with friends etc. will be taken on my phone whereas if they’re of certain places or blog photos, I’ll use my GF6.

IMG_5424

IMG_5427

HOW I EDIT BLOG PHOTOS

I will take my photos on my GF6 and upload them to my MacBook and get rid of any images that I think wont use and send the best ones over to my phone. I’ll then use FaceTune or Air Brush to whiten the background. I tend to use FaceTune when the image comes up darker than expected as the whitening tool can be made to be brighter in comparison to Air Brush. I’ll then transfer the images back over to my MacBook and use the editing in Photos to enhance the white. I usually boost exposure and brightness the most to start, and then pop the colour by increasing the shadows, contrast and black point. I usually decrease the shadows in photos, but it depends on the lighting of the photo as this can change. After this, I’m all ready to upload on the blog!

Before:P1080413
After:

IMG_0102.jpg

HOW I EDIT INSTAGRAM PHOTOS

My photos with friends are edited using VSCO Cam which is a great for bringing out colours in photos. I’m using the photo below as an example for how it has been edited:

IMG_4601

After:Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

On VSCO Cam my favourite filter is  HB2 as I feel like the contrast is perfect and brings out colour so it is bright. I usually set the exposure to being no more than +0.5 and increase contrast to around +1.5. And that’s it! Ready for the Gram!

How do you edit your photos? Do you have any tips?

Leave a Reply

