Farewell 2016

And within a blink of an eye, that is 2016 over! This year has gone ridiculously fast. So much has happened and changed over the course of 12 months, it is hard to believe. It’s true what they say, as you get older the years fly by quicker! Looking back on 2016 I have achieved so much and it has been a great year. I’ve made so many memories to last me a lifetime with people I love.

P1060520

This year I’ve learnt that change can be a good thing and not try not to have a negative outlook on it (still working on this one!). Starting a clean slate from school to university was something I found rather hard as I was so content and happy in my little life bubble at home and for it to change seemed like the end of the world. It has taught me how to live independently and fend for myself, which is useful for the future, but it has certainly made me realise being in the comfort of my own home with family around me is really where I want to be.

Everybody parting off in their own direction to take control of their future has shown me a lot about the strength of friendships. Just because everyone is in different places around the country, or are busy so cannot talk or meet up doesn’t mean friendships end. I feel that is something people need to learn. Being away from the people I have been around for many years on a daily basis has really shown who my true friends are and shown me the value they have.

P1060512

Similarly, the distance has also shown me that the rubbish people say about “long distance not working because of uni” is a load of rubbish. If someone wants to be with you they will make the time and effort to see you and be able to trust you.  I’ve learnt that treasuring time together is important as it could be another few weeks till you see each other again.

Being as headstrong about my career as I am, I’ve learnt that you’ve got to work hard to play hard! People make university out to be ‘partying’ all the time but since being there I feel like I’ve turned into an old woman, locking myself away to get my work completed long before the deadlines. A lot of hard work and effort goes in to achieve the best in order to get myself where I want to be in the future and that is certainly something I have found a tendency to focus on.

p1060526

What have I learnt from 2016 to take into 2017?

I’ve learnt that I want to capture more memories with photography. I do this a lot already but I only seemed to pick this up since the summer and I’m looking forward to starting a fresh in January and documenting my whole year using photos. They are so great to look back on and they fill me with happiness.

P1060524

I aim to continue my hard work at university, aiming (fingers crossed) to finish first year with a 2:1. This would make me so proud of myself and aim for me to strive higher in second year to achieve the best I possibly can out of my degree. I am paying £9000 a year for it after all!

Doing more for myself such as work experience to get my foot in the door of the media industry is another goal of mine this year. I’ve learnt from talking to a few people who are already in the industry, it is all about the people you known and the experience you have. I want to gain all the experience I can whilst at university to get myself ready for the world outside of education.

I hope you have had a wonderful 2016 and have an even better 2017!

Leave a Reply

