Top 5 Lipstick Picks

Wearing a lipstick is part of my daily make-up routine and is a staple that I always like to wear. Whether it be a nude or a bold lip, I have narrowed my top 5 choices down to my favourites that I own.

IMG_5299

My first choice being MAC’s ‘Velvet Teddy’ as it is my go-to every day lipstick that goes perfect with anything. This lipstick is by far my all time favourite. It’s a pink matte nude that looks so natural. I brought this lipstick whilst I was in America last year and had too repurchase when I ran out.

Rimmel ‘Stary Eyed‘ is my staple autumnal lipstick and has been for the past two years. I sadly lost my one from last year but repurchased now we have hit November. The lipstick is a subtle purple tone that doesn’t sit too dark on the lips.  The lipstick is very pigmented though so sometimes it takes some blotting off or spreading out a little with a lip brush.

MAC ‘Twig‘ is quite similar to their own ‘Velvet Teddy‘ but is a darker pink which is more obvious on the lip. I liked this one in comparison to ‘Velvet Teddy‘ as where it is darker it can be used more for occasions rather than every-day wear and despite being just a ‘pink tone’ it can jazz up an outfit.

‘Cannes’ by NYX is a recent purchase of mine as i’ve always wanted to try their products but sadly there was no stand in the Boots in my town but since moving to university, I have found a store that FINALLY stocks NYX! I thought this would be perfect timing to give a Soft Matte Lip Cream a go. As you can probably tell by now I like pink tones for an everyday lip so I opted for another pink. The applicator picks up a lot of product and when applying you may need to give it another go over with the brush a few times to ensure all the product is blended it and pigment is not stuck on one place.

MAC ‘Viva Glam 2′ is another lipstick I purchased whilst being in America as I didn’t have a colour other than the pinks so I decided to go for a simple red lip. Compared to MAC’s ‘Ruby Woo‘ which is personally too bright for me, I stumbled across ‘Viva Glam 2′ which is the perfect shade as it is not too bright and is a subtle red tone that can be worn in any season. I like to wear this lip on a night out or in the autumn/winter seasons. I also tend to use a NARS lip pencil to line my lips before applying as the colours are incredibly similar.

IMG_5301.jpg
L-R: MAC ‘Velvet Teddy‘, Rimmel ‘Stary Eyed‘, NYX ‘Cannes‘, MAC ‘Viva Glam 2‘, MAC ‘Twig
Leave a Reply

